Thread: Finishing curly maple

Finishing curly maple

I usually hang out on the Neanderthal board, so I apologize if this has already been discussed ad nauseum.

I'm making a simple box, mostly out of walnut, but with a very nice piece of curly maple for the top, one with a lot of interest. I'd like to make sure that the finish on the curly maple shows it off, making the grain pop and reflect light the way that curly maple does. Anyone have a personal favorite way of finishing curly maple that you'd like to share?
    Michael Ray Smith

I am no expert but I came across this from the wood whisper

http://thewoodwhisperer.com/episode-...oes-the-maple/

Maybe it will help you

Maple does not stain well curly maple is even worse.

Option 1 - Use boiled linseed oil to pop the grain seal it with dewaxed shellac (rattle can of Zinsser works just fine). Then top coat of your choice. Shellac is OK as a finial finish; or top coat as you wish..

Option 2 - Use dewaxed Garnet shellac. You'll need to mix your own from flakes. Use as only finish or top coat as you wish.

Option 3 - (My preferred method) Dye with a water soluble dye (Transfast is one brand name). Then sand it back so the dye is only in the curl and top coat as you wish. Dewaxed garnet shellac, would be my choice for the maple and the walnut.
    Scott

Finishing is an 'Art & a Science'. Actually, it is a process. You must understand the properties and tendencies of the finish you are using. You must know the proper steps and techniques, then you must execute them properly.

I have had great success with water soluble dyes. Mainly transtint from homestead finishing. Really brings out the grain. COmes in quite a few colors. I usualy sand to 180 and the raise the grain with Dist. water and then asand back down and then dye the wood. The usually finish with target topcoat. The best way to figure out what you like is experiment on scrap wood before the project.

Hope that helps.

Quinn