Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jet 1236 lathe A good starter?

Jet 1236 lathe A good starter?

Looking to get into turning. Would you feel this would be a good starter lathe? Looking for feedback from some of you that maybe owned one in the past. The owner says it's about 6yrs old, looking for 400.00 or best offer. I know it's not the most solid of lathes. But I feel it's a good price considering what the mini's and midi's are going for. I'm no stranger to lathes I'm a machinist by trade. Working with lathes mostly. But never have done any turning in wood before. Thanks in advance for you feedback.

Russ

Thats a premium price for what you're getting but if you want the most bang for your buck put in and extra $200. and buy a Delta 46-460.You will not be disappointed and it will never go down in value.
    Half way between the north pole and the equator!
    Half way between Steve Schlumpf and John Keeton!

I have no complaints about Jet lathe at all. I have a Jet 1014VS mini I have had for a year now that I turn pens ect on and it is a great lathe, and I just got a 1642 about 2 weeks ago the so far has done everything I ask it to. From many of the forums I have read and exp with these to I think Jet is easily the best bang for you're buck.

I did use this lathe as a starter and it generally performed well, particularly for smaller pieces. It did not take me long, however, to realize I needes something more substantial. I think it is fine if you're not sure you really want to get into to turning or just want to turn the occasional small piece but don't expect it to be a long term tool if you get sucked into the vortex! I also think $400 is a bit steep unless it is in like new condition.

I had a 12336 jet and it was a very nice lathe.It is best for spindle work and smaller bowls. I upgraded about a year ago and sold it for $550, it was in nearly new condition.
    "So much wood - So little time ! "
    Past President Western Mountain Woodturners