Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First hand plane?

First hand plane?

Hello everyone,

This is my first post here as I am completely new to woodworking. I've been trying to build a set of hand tools, but have been having trouble choosing/finding my first hand plane. I was hoping some of you could offer me some advice...

For me, woodworking will be just a hobby and I hope to do smaller projects (like cutting boards and boxes) at least for the time being. My research has led me to consider a low angle block plane as my first plane, but a smoothing or jack plane has also been recommended to me. Does anyone have additional opinions about this? Also, what exactly would I use each of these planes for, particularly in the small-scale projects that I'd be working on as a beginner?

If it helps, I'd like to spend less than $40 on my first plane.

Any and all advice is appreciated.

Julian,

Rather than a block plane as your first, I would suggest a Stanley #3 or 4 for smaller scale work, and a #4 or 5 for more general work. My first hand plane was a Stanley low angle block plane for $36 brand new (Lee Valley has them), and it was a good plane for a beginner but for my use was too small for most stuff. With a sharp blade, the plane performed way beyond the $36 it cost, mainly due to the adjustable mouth, and I still have it.
    For a beginner, you can get a later Stanley like a type 19 #4 or #3 for less than $40 needing only a little clean up and sharpening.

Far and away, more important than any plane type/size/brand is the first and most important step in hand tool work - sharpening. Don't worry about method, oilstones, water stones, sandpaper, sidewalk... just take a lesson, watch a video, get a book, and sharpen a plane blade or chisel for yourself and take it to a piece of cherry and you will be hooked. Feeling what a sharp tool does will give you all the motivation you could ever need to explore further.