Thread: Engraving acrylic

Engraving acrylic

Hello

I have a problem with the engraving acrylic.(GCC - Mercury)
    Laser makes vertical stripes. Engraving is not clear.(photo)
    I replaced the X axis (axis, motor, bearings) ... the same.
    Do not know what may be the problem?

thank you
    Attached Images Attached Images

Jan,

Does your laser have a "Tickle" adjustment? Try to lower it down.
    Trotec Speedy 300 - 60w, with Quatro CSA-626 fume extraction
    Xenetech 1625 x2,
    New Hermes TX pantograph, CG4 cutter grinder
    Brady Globalmark2 label printer,
    Assortment of custom tooling , shears & punches, heat bender.
    Software: Xenetech XOT, Corel X3, Bartender label software

Hello

I am a newbie in the laser.
    Please, what is "Tickle" adjustment

Thanks

TICKLE
    This is the term used to define the small pulses sent to keep the plasma inside the laser, energized.
    Ask your GCC dealer for info on locating and adjusting tickle voltage.

On my machine (ULS) there is a set of DIP switches on tube assembly for this.
    Trotec Speedy 300 - 60w, with Quatro CSA-626 fume extraction
    Xenetech 1625 x2,
    New Hermes TX pantograph, CG4 cutter grinder
    Brady Globalmark2 label printer,
    Assortment of custom tooling , shears & punches, heat bender.
    Software: Xenetech XOT, Corel X3, Bartender label software

Tony, I am not disagreeing but what makes you conclude that it is the tickle problem? Usually a tickle problem is associated with extraneous bits of engraved lines outside the graphic boundaries (if tickle is too high.) If set too low it will fail to fire soon enough on a return stroke so there will be missing "pixels" in the graphic. It is not obvious to me that this is a tickle problem . . .

Jan, contact your GCC dealer for instructions on adjusting tickle if you want to experiment with this, but note where it was to begin in case you want to put it back to original condition.