Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Would you pay $20 for this bench plane?

Would you pay $20 for this bench plane?

I am new to hand tools and woodworking in general. I have come across this hand plane in a CL ad and would like to know what you think of the asking price of $20 as well as any other information you might be able to tell me based on this one picture that I have. Thanks!

photo(1).JPG

Who's it made by?
    Happiness is like wetting your pants...everyone can see it, but only you can feel the warmth....

I emailed the seller asking and he didn't know, nor was there any markings other than a stamped #4 on the front. I could always buy myself a new plane, but like everyone else I like Deals, just don't know enough about woodworking to know a deal when it hits me in the face... LOL

Without knowing who it's made by and what condition it's in I'd put a value anywhere between say nothing and $100+ Old Stanley's are worth a lot of dough b/c guys decided they're worth collecting??? As such they can get good money. On the other hand if it's a newer Buck Bro's or equivalent it's value is much, much lower. Then if it has a warped body, broken pieces, or other damage not visible in the pic.....it's essentially worthless

I like used tools too....but I believe it's more important to know what your doing with used than it is new! If you don't know much about planes you may want to consider buying a decent quality new one first and learning a bit about them before starting to collect used.....or not

good luck,
    JeffD

Hi Mike,

My $.02

That could be a perfectly tuned, usable plane as is. Or it could be something that someone just had lying around and never used. The problem with buying used older planes like this as a newbie is, that unless you take the time to learn how to tune them and get them really sharp - then the experience isnt going to be that great.