Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Finish questions for first cherry project

Finish questions for first cherry project

Hello All,

I'm brand new to the site, and let me say first and foremost that the amount of information and interaction here is just incredible, and I'm really looking forward to being part of it.

Well, here's the deal...I'm new to woodworking, and am currently getting started on a side table that I am going to build for my parents for Christmas. The table top will be 4/4 cherry, and the legs and rails are black walnut.

I have a couple of questions regarding finishing both the cherry and the walnut, neither of which I've had the chance to work with yet.

First off, after the stock is planed etc., would it be adequate to go ahead and start ROS sanding with 120, 150, 180 for the top, legs, and rails, or should the cherry and walnut be taken up to 220?

Secondly, as far as finishes go, I'd appreciate some input: I was planning on using BLO on the cherry top, let it dry for 48 hrs or so, then follow that with a coat of pre-mixed shellac (possibly zinsser). How many coats of shellac would 'typically' be used, and, would it be appropriate to then utilize a final top coat of water based satin poly over the shellac. (Not sure if the poly-acrylic product can be used over shellac??). What I'm looking for is a natural finish for the cherry that will look nice with the black walnut.

Concerning the black walnut, what type of finish would you all use with that? I don't really want to darken the walnut and increase the contrast between it and the cherry, although the contrast won't be such an issue I suppose as the cherry takes on its natural darkening with age.

Any thought, experiences, and advise would be MUCH appreciated. Thanks!