Thread: Fluted columns without a lathe?

Blog Entries

Question Fluted columns without a lathe?

Even though I don't have a lathe, I'm recklessly considering building a project with fluted columns, which I've never done before.

All the articles I've seen about how to build fluted columns seem to involve leaving the turned round work piece on the lathe and then building a carriage that slides along the lathe bed and holds an electric router to cut the flute.

I could probably borrow a lathe to turn the columns round, but I'm wondering if anyone has a suggestion about how I could cut the flutes at the workbench?

I'm thinking I could clamp the turn columned between dogs on the work bench and then build some kind of fences/guides on either side of the workpiece that would keep the router bit at the appropriate height and also cutting a straight line -- does that make sense? Has anyone seen plans/descriptions of some kind of jig for doing this?

I don't think it would be practical to try and cut the flutes freehand with a gouge because I don't think I have the talent to keep them straight. How did pre-industrial woodworkers do this? Did it always require some kind of lathe or were they ever cut freehand?

I appreciate any advice, suggestions information. Thanks in advance,

All the best,Mike

There was an article in PW a while back that had a description of a jig for routing sliding dovetails in a column for a spider leg candle stand. That might be a good place to start. You might be able to modify the jig to do what you want to attempt. Fluting with hand tools is not a very common practice. This is a case where the invention of power tools has not so much duplicated how work was done, but has actually changed the work. If you want to go with hand tool, I would think you would use a scratch tool of some kind and clean up the ends with a gouge. That would be my best guess, maybe others have better ideas and experience with doing this.

Dan Carroll

Blog Entries