Thread: Does the #4 Veritas Smoothing Plane have enough length.

Does the #4 Veritas Smoothing Plane have enough length.

I am building a chest on chest and the sides measure 21 wide by up to 38 high. I am joining 3 boards together to get the width. After running them thru the jointer and the plane, I realize that there still needs to be some smoothing. The #4 that I own is 9 1/2" in length. I see that there is a #6 fore plane that is 18" long and a new model bevel up jointer plane that is 22" long. I could really use some advice on which type of plane will work the best for my project. I am fairly new to the use of hand planes.

If you're talking smoothing for finishing purposes, if you're machined surfaces are fairly true, just not smooth, which is what I'd assume is the case, you could certainly get a good surface with a smoothing sized plane. If you're talking about getting true edges for the glue up of the boards, I like to work with something longer - again, if your edges are fairly true off of the machines, you can get by with something shorter with a little skill and care, but the longer the board for something that needs to be a perfect match down it's length, the longer a plane I like to use.
    " Be willing to make mistakes in your basements, garages, apartments and palaces. I have made many. Your first attempts may be poor. They will not be futile. " - M.S. Bickford, Mouldings In Practice

Thank you for your response. I was referring to the face surface of the sides. Once I have glued the 3 pieces together and they should be fairly true, do I take a metal straight edge and look for high spots to smooth? Can you tell that I am new to this?

Glenn,

There's an element of "personal taste" in the answer to this and it, in part depends upon how smooth and coplanar the glued up assembly is to begin with, how coplanar you want it and how coplanar you need it to be (for example, a gloss finish amplifies non-flatness while an oil finish tends to mask it).