Thread: Jointer motor hums but won't turn

Jointer motor hums but won't turn

I was running my jointer the other day. It was running fine for a while. I turned it off for a few minutes and when I turned it back on, the motor hummed but wouldn't turn. There is a reset button on the top of the motor but it doesn't seem to have been tripped (at least pushing the button doesn't do anything). The jointer is an AMT but the motor is a GE. I think I remember the guy I bought it from saying he had replaced the motor. In fact, he had ordered the motor and for some reason, he had received two. When he sold me the jointer, he gave me the second as well. So if the one in there has gone bad, I can swap it out with the other. But I'd like to avoid that if I can. I'm not very experienced with electrical issues, so I thought I'd ask if anyone has any idea if there is anything I could try before replacing the motor.

Cheers.

If it is a single phase motor it uses a capacitor to start the motor. If the capacitor is bad the motor won't start. Sounds like that could be your problem.

The capacitor is located inside a small enclosure that forms a hump on the side of the motor housing. If the capacitor case looks burned or swollen it is probably bad. If not, it may still be bad. You can check the capacitor with an ohmmeter for shorts and open or damaged plates. Google "motor start capacitor test" to find out how.

This is an easy fix, and capacitors are readily available, but make sure to replace it with the same size capacitor (usually printed on the capacitor case as some number of microfarads, a.k.a. uf or mf. This is an easy fix, though you have to know how to solder correctly.

The first thing I would check is the centrifugal switch on the motor shaft. You'll have to remove the fan cover from the motor and check to see if the collar that holds the switch onto the spindle has slipped. I've had this happen on jointers and lathes (both Asian). Easy fix.