Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need miter saw recommendations, Hitachi or Festool?

Need miter saw recommendations, Hitachi or Festool?

I've been a carpenter for over 10 years now and have been on a steady course towards the finer end of the spectrum. I started out as a production trim guy and now we do the more complicated details/site built cabinetry. I find myself in a bit of a pickle, all three of my miter saws have gone down in the last couple weeks. I have always used Hitachi's 10" sliding compound saw and have never had a complaint. My business seems to be heading towards just building pieces in the shop and shipping them out. Is now the time to invest in a festool saw or stay with the hitachi? I'm willing to commit to not letting it leave the shop but is it 2 1/2 times the saw? I'm going to have to buy a saw Monday morning and I'm not sure what to do so any suggestions are welcome
    ​Hank

I'm a diehard Festool fan but I am going to replace my trusty 12" DeWalt with a Bosch GCM12SD 12" sliding dual bevel miter saw...one of these days. Search for it on YouTube and check out some videos.
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

I recommend the Hitachi digital dual bevel sliding compound miter saw. It is one awesome saw. I have one and I am a hobbyist only but is top notch for cutting things like crown molding FLAT on the table. It is half the cost of Festool, paid under $600 for mine from CPO.

The main advantages of the Festool miter saw is it's light weight & very good dust collection. These two items are very important when doing onsite work, but not very important when when working in the shop. I use a Dewalt saw in the shop & a Festool onsite.