Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spalted maple lidded box

Spalted maple lidded box

This was done to try out another tool I just got in the mail..........no, I am not buying all new tools! This was a test for a certain style flute! It worked well!

Anyway, this was a quick little project, and the blank already had tenons on both ends and was just cluttering up my grinding area, so I chucked it up........I thought I would go simple with this one! Sometimes simple is better!

IMGP3940.JPGIMGP3942.JPGIMGP3941.JPG If you like it, let me know!
    Remember, in a moments time, everything can change!

Vision - not just seeing what is, but seeing what can be!

I think it turned out great. What tool were you testing on this piece? I am just getting into box's. Always in the market for a new tool.
    Paul Singer
    Jet 1642EVS 2hp

Quote Originally Posted by Paul Singer View Post
    I think it turned out great. What tool were you testing on this piece? I am just getting into box's. Always in the market for a new tool.
    The tool was just a bowl gouge..........just doing as a favor to someone.........it was used for the outside and a little of the hollowing before the real important tool.....a square box scraper with 2 sharp sides 90 degrees to each other and beveled back about 25 degrees.......that is my secret to a flat wall and sharp corner and flat bottom!

Good luck with your future boxes!

Simple is a good thing! Sometimes I get in a tizzy trying to think out what I want to do, and there are times I suppose when that's necessary. But at other times, it's really OK just to chuck up (as opposed to up chuck) a piece laying around and go simple. Nice little box there!

Roger a nice clean little box.