Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pretty big problem

Pretty big problem

Guys (generically including girls),

I've got an overarching problem that I can't seem to solve. I need some good direction.

It's perplexed the hell out of me. I continually have feedback on my tool which ends up creating a wave pattern on the work. It happens on bowls, between centers, and just about everywhere in between. It's particularly evil when I'm trying to get a smoothing cut, but it happens other times too. It occurs with a skew, bowl gouge, fingernail ground gouge, soft wood, hard wood, inside, outside, ignores grain, and generally gives me huge problems. I can't seem to get rid of it - heavy cut, light cut, low pressure, heavy handed tool pressure, speed, reversing grain direction/attack, changing blade angle - you name it. Oh yes, it isn't the lathe either. HELP

I'm a medium skilled turner, self-taught, but a long time woodworker. I've got to overcome this issue. THANKS in advance!

Sounds like your headstock spindle is loose or has runout. Or you arent holding your tool solidly.
    14x48 custom 2hp 9gear lathe
    9 inch pre 1940 craftsman lathe
    36 inch 1914 Sydney bandsaw (BEAST)
    Wood in every shelf and nook and cranny,,, seriously too much wood!

It's not the lathe. I've got a big powermatic and there's no runout. I've got solid tool control; handle on hip, hip moving the tool. I'd go for this answer, but I've tried to resolve things this way. It could be though...I'll try anything.

Art,
    Any chance you have a turning club close? Might be someone with some experience that is not too far away that could see what is going on up close.

Quote Originally Posted by Art Brazee View Post
    It's not the lathe. I've got a big powermatic and there's no runout. I've got solid tool control; handle on hip, hip moving the tool. I'd go for this answer, but I've tried to resolve things this way. It could be though...I'll try anything.