Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do I make cheap, fast tool crates for moving my shop to a new location?

How do I make cheap, fast tool crates for moving my shop to a new location?

So, god willin an the creek don't rise, we're about to get our first house. We've submitted an offer and we're waiting to see if it's going to be accepted. One of the nice things about the new place is that it includes a separate workshop in addition to the 2-car garage under the house. This is great for me because I'm a mechanic and I own my own shop. I'll have about a 25' commute to work.

The thing I'm dreading most is moving the workshop from the place it is now to the new place. My woodworking tools are actually going to be easy to move because it's all stuff that was designed to be used on-site anyway, with the exception of the BIG bandsaw. However, my mechanic's tools are an entirely different story. After asking on GJ, I've been convinced to empty the rolling tool chests before I attempt to move them. Additionally, I've realized I have more stationary tools that no longer have shipping boxes than I thought I did. So, I need to build some tool crates out of wood to move all this stuff. I need two things, really: custom fit crates for moving specific stationary tools and a bunch of generic crates so I can dump out each drawer the rolling tool chests into its own crate and load that separately from the rolling chest itself.