Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Engraving Firearms

Engraving Firearms

Hey guys just curious has anyone engraved any firearms? What's the difficulty level and any type of care after engraving?
    Eddie Castaneda
    Wire-Tech, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300 flexx 60W CO2 Laser/30W Fiber Laser
    EngraveLab 9.0
    CorelDraw X6

I engraved one of my Glocks and it worked fine. I have done a little research on this. Glock's have a finish that is very good for laser engraving. I understand that other firearms may not be so well suited for it. I think you can engrave stainless firearms if you used Cermark but I have not tried it yet. If you're going to do it commercially there are a bunch of laws that get in the way. You can't take in a customers gun for engraving unless you have a Federal Firearms License. (I'm no lawyer so don't hold me to all these details.) I understand there are ways around this by doing things like having the customer wait there while you do the work or by disassembling the gun and only having the slide in your possession to engrave and have the customer keep the lower. You also have to be real careful that your engraving doesn't affect the markings on the firearm including the serial number and the information that identified the manufacturer of the firearm. Those items are required by law to be on the gun and to dismember them in any way would be illegal.
    -----------------------------------------------
    Mark Smith
    Tracy, CA
    Mark's Custom Woodcrafts
    Legacy Artie 58 CNC
    Hurricane Ivan 60 Watt Laser

Mark, Thanks for the heads up! Commercially is a little to much for me by myself, a couple guys here at work were asking about marking so I thought I would ask all you guys instead of jumping in Head first then messing up. Hmm Cermark I might have todo some research on that stuff!
    Eddie Castaneda
    Wire-Tech, Inc.

EngraveLab 9.0
    CorelDraw X6

Measure twice, cut once.
    Measure twice, cut once.