Thread: Getting started building built-ins

Getting started building built-ins

I am a complete novice to building case goods and have not ventured into finish carpentry.

I would like to tackle building a few built-in pieces: bookcases, console, bench seat, and storage cabinets.

What books or videos would you recommend to give me a wide overview and the finer points of building builtins well?

As far as equipment I have the following: circular saw, cordless drill, sliding chop saw, jig saw, router, trim router, sander, and an assortment of hand tool saws, chisels, and layout tools.

Or if there is anyone in the Atlanta area that wants to instruct I would love to learn hands on.
    My friend Fred taught me that relationships are like fine tool makers, what you pay is but a small part, what matters most is the time, passion, and care that was spent and the joy that you have.

Forget all the stuff for sale out there and just run to Youtube and other internet sources when you have a question.

I agree with Johnny. Buying books and videos is ok but they will have different approaches. Check out youtube and you'll at the very least get an idea of how you'd like to go about it. I'd recommend off the top of my head looking at kreg pocket hole jig videos. They have some decently detailed videos on how to do it using their system. Your tools are a little limited so you might be interested in getting a pocket hole jig for the joinery. They are relatively cheap and very easy to use.

I plan on doing the same thing as you, in time. I'm going to practice building cabinets for my shop first.

long term, i'd subscribe to wood magazine, shopnotes magazine and woodsmith magazine. wood is a great overall reference for both projects and project plans. shopnotes specializes in WW techniques and woodsmith specializes in employing those techniques to build projects.

Shawn, you may be needing a table saw, or at least a guide to run your circular saw against to strait line boards.