Thread: Too Blue?

Too Blue?

I had heard that box elder was a good wood to dye so this is my first attempt at dyeing a bowl. I applied the dye and when it dried it was very turquoise and almost opaque with very little figure showing through. I wasn't sure what to do but I rubbed in some walnut oil and the blue became much more transparent letting the figure show. I have been getting good reactions from people and it is growing on me now. I guess I like it, for a first try. Not yet signed or buffed but I was taking photos so I did this one too. 4 1/4h x 9 3/4w, 4 or 5 coats of WOP.
    Comments, Criticism, or Helpful Hints appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images

I like it fwiw. But I'm prone to like different. To me the important thing is that it pleases you.

Funny, I usually dislike blue for bowls..dunno why.., but this one I like. the color deep enough and the bowl has so many holes & rough edges, that it looks real good to me
    Be the kind of woman that when your feet hit the ground each morning, the devil says, "oh crap she's up!"

Tolerance is giving every other human being every right that you claim for yourself.

"What is man without the beasts? If all the beasts are gone, men would die from great loneliness of spirit. For whatever happens to the beasts will happen to man. All things are connected. " Chief Seattle Duwamish Tribe

I like this a lot. You did a great job showing off the great grain patterns.
    Be careful when buffing, the wheel might grab an opening and fling the bowl if you are too aggressive.

Not a big fan of coloring wood. But sometimes, it simply works. This is one of those exceptions.
    I drink, therefore I am.

way cool, i have never see blue boxelder, good imagination, it really pops the burl