Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Used jet 1014 lathe...thoughts?

Used jet 1014 lathe...thoughts?

I am considering getting a small lathe for my workshop. I have looked around online and at a few local shops too. Space is limited and I am not planning on making anything large. I came across a jet 1014. Low-end, yes, but as a beginner I am not sure I am ready to drop a lot of money on something bigger and better. It's almost 10 years old but unused in its original box. Comes with bed extension, stand, and stand extension, all unopened. Dropped price to $495 for everything. How well would this lathe hold up, particularly after sitting unused for so long? Or better to keep looking? The newer 1015 with same stand and extensions would run about $900+. Any thoughts?

My grandson has a 1014, I started on a 1220 with bed extension and upgraded to a 1642. I have not been impressed with the 1014 though I lot of people use them for pens and other small objects. I do not think it is heavy enough for the extension to be particularly useful and a table is too easy to make. The $495 is too much for the base machine and I don't see the value in the other items. YMMV - that's just my opinion. If it included a chuck or chisels, that would up the value enough. That said, I think you could probably get most of your money back out of it.

Assuming no rust other than light surface rust, my only real *concern* would probably be the belt needing replacement after being in storage that long. Be aware that the $495 is just a starting point.
    Retired - when every day is Saturday (unless it's Sunday).

That lathe is not "low end". It is small, but not low end. Low end would be Craftsman, Ridgid, Cummins (sorry to all you guys out there that use those...no insult intended, just sayin'). It is a very good/steady lathe for its size. It operates smoothly. If you do only small stuff, it will be great for you.