Thread: Which 2-Line Laser Level do you recommend?

Which 2-Line Laser Level do you recommend?

I have some stair balustrade and cabinet installations coming up and I think a laser level would make those jobs a lot easier. My requirements are pretty simple, I think, a plumb and a horizontal line; a plumb point would be a nice bonus but not an absolute. Self leveling is another must. Accuracy above all else, with a fine line not some big 1/4" or wider line at 20 ft. So with that in mind, what specific units do you like, and why? Thanks in advance.

John

I've been using a Stanley cross 90 (I think) for about 5 years now. Paid about $100 or so. It's got a horizontal line, vertical, or both. I swear I use it every day. I have mine mounted on a camera tripod, and have a bracket that mounts it to a Fastcap "third hand" pole so I can set it anywhere from floor to ceiling. It gets banged around alot, thrown in the back of the pickup, left out in the cold, etc. and it is still as accurate as the day I bought it.

I have an older version of this Hilti that I have liked using very much. http://www.amazon.com/Hilti-00411283...d_sim_sbs_hi_4 The price is all over the place so shop around as it is on the high side. An excellent tool though. I use it for install work of all sorts and with a Laser Jamb pole I have tilted it for establishing stair lines - railings or stringers etc. The out of level feature gets activated, i.e., the line blinks, but it still allows for determining an accurate mark in a sloped orientation. For regular horizontals, and verticals (separately or combined) it is a perfect compact and accurate tool with easy to read thin lines in a broad band (for working far out of corners). The only deficiency is that it does not generate a direct plum line like others that will give you a point on the floor and on the ceiling directly above. This one will give you a vertical line but only away from the laser itself a few inches or more.