Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VFD good or bad for old 3 phase motors

VFD good or bad for old 3 phase motors

Long story short. I have been looking at a couple of power tools that have a 220v 3 phase motor. I was wanting to avoid having to install a rotary converter. But I have been told the VFDs that some folks use are bad for the motors and can ruin them. Can you tell I am not an electrical engineer? Any insight into this would be most helpful. Thank you in advance. Ron

Dunno, but you won't regret setting up a rotary converter. It's really not that big a deal. You'd have to learn to program the VFD anyway. The manual for the one I had was bewildering and I puzzled over it and my first 3 phase machine for many hours. The rotary once set up is plug and play.

Older motors will not last as long running on a VFD as they would running on a rotary converter BUT for hobby use, it is not a concern. If you were running the motor 24 hrs/day especially at low frequency; it would be a concern. My lathe gets used 10 - 20 hours per week; the motor was new 6 years ago but not inverter rated and is going strong. I expect it to last several more years (will probably outlast the inverter). A rotary converter would be a good choice for machines that don't need variable speed. VFDs are great for machines that benefit from variable speed.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis Ford View Post
    Older motors will not last as long running on a VFD as they would running on a rotary converter BUT for hobby use, it is not a concern.
    Dennis,

Why do you think that?
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)