Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What are your favorite woodworking tools?

What are your favorite woodworking tools?

It would be good to share everyone's favorite bargain and spendy tool experiences. I'll start with a few of my favorites.

Bargain hand tool: Simonds Vixen file $5.00 eBay. I use this as a float to clean and adjust all of my mortises and tenons. It make fitting my joints a breeze.

Bargain powertool: Ridgid oscillating spindle belt sander. $100 Home Depot. I have been using the sander for almost 10 years and it is used on almost every project to quickly sand flat or curve surfaces. I use 3m regalite belts that lasts forever. It also has a lifetime warranty.

Spendy hand tool: Lie Nielsen Rabbet Block plane. $175. I use this to trim shoulders and cheeks on tenons, cut chamfers and use it for all my general block planing needs.

Spendy power tool: Sawstop 3hp ICS $3500, awesome table saw. Accurate and has performed flawlessly for the past 4 years. Only the fence faces needed to be upgraded. It was expensive but worth every penny.
    Last edited by Mike Leung; 02-03-2014 at 3:02 PM.

In hand tools my favourites are egg beater drills. I have a few, on particular Millers Falls drill get used often.

In power tools my favourite is the shaper, nothing to me changes a stick of wood into something nice like a shaper. Using it to pattern copy is even more remarkable to me.

Regards, Rod.

I just like this corner of my shop best, hard to pick just one thing in it.

20140203_082335 (640x360) (2).jpg

Ok, lets try that size...
    Last edited by Steve Rozmiarek; 02-03-2014 at 3:54 PM.

Blog Entries
    Steve, I like it big. That's a pretty awesome picture!
    Larry J Browning
    There are 10 kinds of people in this world; Those who understand binary and those who don't.

Quote Originally Posted by Larry Browning View Post
    Steve, I like it big. That's a pretty awesome picture!