Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I am DEFINITELY in the wrong business

I am DEFINITELY in the wrong business

Howard Rosenberg

You and me both. We should go into business together

Apparently this was for for sale up your way...

Here's my latest creation. I call it "Unfortunate Bookends". Only $65 on my Etsy store.

20140213_204034_resized.jpg

Anybody remember "Pet Rocks

In my younger days I had a friend, an artist. Iconoclast to say the least. He was involved in a local annual art show. He was a cabinet maker by trade, artist by nature, cynic by choice I'd imagine. He felt the annual show had been over run with dilettantes and posers. So he built a very nice pedestal. And he collected dog poop. Put the poop in a brown paper bag. Went to the show, put the bag on the pedestal. The local illuminate conversed all night about "what the artist meant" by the simple statement of the pedestal and bag.....discussed the form.....blah blah blah. My friend felt art was meant to be felt, not discussed. Just before "judging time".. this was a juried show....he walked up to the bag, covered it in lighter fluid and lit it. The judges gasped, what did the artist mean to convey now? What statement was he making? A study in the transformation of man in modern society? Blah blah blah...so they made the mistake of asking him what he meant. At a certain point a burning bag of dog poop starts to smell. At that point he told them "Problem is you people can't tell the difference between art and a flaming bag of dog poop" He was never invited back to that show.

Personally I'd rather have the bag of dog poop than that block of nothing to remind me not to over consume. Though if you find yourself with so much extra money you can't find anything better to do with it than buy that block of nothing, you could certainly use it to bang against your head in hope the crack it made might let in some sense. Art is meant to be felt.

Quote Originally Posted by Phil Dowd View Post