Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Workbench top design questions

Workbench top design questions

Hi everybody,

I’m a newbie here, but have been working wood on and off for many years. I’ve finally decided to build a nice bench for myself, and have been inspired by Chris Schwartz’s Roubo design.

My design criteria are:

1) Heavy and solid, as I intend to do chiefly Neander-type things on it.
    2) Moveable; the top should be removable, and the two leg structures will joined to the long stretchers knock-down fashion.
    3) Good for a 6’4” left-hander (but convertible to right-handed so my son might use it someday).

This is what I’ve come up with so far:

MongrelWorkbench.jpgMongrelWorkbench_side_oblique.jpg

The top design reflects the fact that I jumped on a good deal for a laminated maple top from Woodcraft (a Bally Block top). Then I began to think that maybe its 1-7/8" thickness might not be enough. It's only a 24 X 60 top, so I'm not really worried about sagging, but I'm thinking more mass and thickness for dog and holdfast holes might be good. That's the reason for the 8/4 X 6" planks on the front and back. I'm not crazy about this compromise, and have a couple of questions about it:

1) Does it make any sense?
    2) If I use 8/4 maple for the planks (skirts?), can I glue them directly to the underside of the laminated top? Are there any wood movement issues with that?
    3) Can I get away with a cheaper (non-maple) species, and what then are the implications for wood movement?

My mind is full of other questions, but I'll stop here for now. Thanks so much for reading this far!

Phil

Looks good to me. I wouldn't get too crazy overthinking things here. I thought about and then re-thought about my bench for a couple of years before I finally built my Roubo.