Thread: Bench 1.0

Bench 1.0

Hi Folks:

I have been fooling around with tools for several years, always using the kitchen table and the stairs (great sawbench, as I'm sure you and your significant others will agree).

I got it in my head last Sept. to make a bench, and have finally finished it.

I made dozens of mistakes (stock selection!), but the result is still a very stout and functional bench. Here it is bathed in the natural light of my studio....I mean the fluorescent light of my basement.

Thanks to all of you who answered questions along the way!

P1190808 copy.jpg

Nice bench! Very tidy looking. You won't miss the kitchen table one bit

Looks real nice, John. Now maybe your pancakes won't have sawdust in em.
    I got cash in my pocket. I got desire in my heart....

Nice.
    Are you going to mount a tail vise?

I spotted the bench hooks and the deadman on the shelf. Planing stops are the other bench apparatus that I really like (something like the veritas plane stop, or a homemade equivalent).

Also recommend adding a big trash can at left end of your bench.
    And keep a bench brush close at hand. (I've got one from HF, or sometimes use mason's brush that I have lying around)

Looks like you added finish to your bench. I haven't gotten around to that yet.

And I see you ended up making the decorative notch on the vise chop -- what technique did you wind up using?

Overall, nice work!

Matt

PS--what are the pads underneath your bench legs?

Matt