Thread: Help with chuck on old drill press

Help with chuck on old drill press

Hi all,
    I am new to drill presses, I have never had one. This is an old Craftsman drill press I am trying to shape up. There is a good bit of rust on many of the parts but the motor works very well. Much of the rust is coming off the pole and cast iron easily enough with a sander and wire wheels.

I am trying to figure out the chuck which is badly rusted. I figured I would take it off the spindle and try to put it in some Evaporust and see what I get. That stuff has worked wonders on some other parts for me.

I also have another chuck that was in a plastic bag and I could put that one on.

I don't see how to get the chuck off the spindle taper. I was able to knock the taper out of the drill press with a block of wood (I don't have a chuck wedge, anyone know where I can buy one to do this correctly?). I have looked for how to separate the chuck and spindle taper but suggestions seem to be for other presses. Attached are some pics.

I am also not sure the difference between my two chucks, perhaps someone with experience can let me know if I need both.

Scott

photo 3.jpgphoto 2.jpgphoto 1.jpg

You just need a chuck arbor. It will be MT2 on one end and the end will have the taper for your chuck. It probably is JT33. The new chuck should say what the taper is. Enco or Mcmaster Carr has the chuck arbors. or you can get them on E**Y. Your old one looks like it might actually be MT1 and not MT2. You can find the deminsions here:
    http://littlemachineshop.com/Reference/Tapers.php

CPeter

I see, you are just saying to "chuck" the old chuck and chuck arbor!

I don't see how to get them apart? There is no lip I can see to get a wedge in to tap. I don't have the proper set up for drilling a hole through the arbor either.

So I can find a new arbor for the unrusted chuck I have, but still wonder how to get those apart once I put them together.

Anyone have a suggestion?