Thread: new to me, craftsman 12 inch radial arm saw

new to me, craftsman 12 inch radial arm saw

I just picked up a craftsman 12 inch radial arm saw, mainly for crosscutting to replace my 10 in slider. any advise or tips on the saw? I am new to them..

it has a CMT blade on it and a ridgid blade was also included. I will have to check but I think both blades are around 40 tooth.

should I just get one of those blades sharpened? or replace it with a higher tooth count? I have read about blades that are better for radial arm saw negative hook or rake? which one of those blades would be better that I have currently have? When I can afford it what is a good, decent priced blade, I saw some frued industrial on amazon for under 80$ that is about as high as I can go. is there a particular blade that works best for this type of saw?
    Attached Images Attached Images

I have one of those saws, Cody I bought it new in 1976! As for blades, a negative hook angle is best(less likely to want to self feed). I run mostly 10" blades because most 12" have a 1" arbor hole. The arbor on that saw is 5/8". In fact much of the time I use a CMT 8 1/4" blade. Cuts very well for most of what I use the saw for. If you are doing finish cuts, go for at least 60 teeth on a 10" blade. I do us Frued blades and like them a lot also.

As I side note, I rarely move the arm from 90 deg and it holds quite accurately.

Cody, radial arm saws operate with a different set of dynamics then table saws, but can perform equally as well and in some cases better when you understand them. The parameters can be broken out into three different aspects which I call TABS; Table, Alignment, Blade Selection.