Thread: Looking for advice from the good people of sawmill!

Looking for advice from the good people of sawmill!

i would like to start out that i have been a heavy equipment operator for many yrs and was wondering if it was over my head to try to get into buying a cnc router with no exp with this type of work.I was looking at a shopbot buddy with possibly the aspire software to try and learn this new trade from scratch.
    i was trying to think of trying this as i would be moving to se asia to apply this as my way of living,i do have my own home and wife and child there.
    I have some savings tucked away to give me time to learn and have always been interested in wood working ect.
    so any advice would be welcome about machine to learn on,software,shipping parts tech support.Or am i just way over my head! As trying to get work for a canadian guy in se asia it doesnt pay much and teaching english is just not my thing...

Can't say if it's over your head, but make sure any equipment you take with you will work on the voltages there.
    Never, under any circumstances, consume a laxative and sleeping pill, on the same night

I don't think you would have any real problems learning a machine, I worked in a factory most of my life with a side dose of construction during summer months. I bought a Laser engraver not having a clue as to what they were or how they worked. I just saw some stuff that was done on one and decided I wanted one LOL Wasn't real hard to learn how to run the machine. The hard part is learning how to use the design software, coreldraw, CAD, AI ,what ever.
    The making a living with one well thats a whole nother story all together. Its not my goal to do that but theirs many people here that do and can tell you whats you have to do to go down that path. But I would say you will be able to learn the machine and even the software in time. Good Luck with your adventure.