Thread: What Byrd should be in my hand?

What Byrd should be in my hand?

I am an hobbyist woodworker mainly working on small cabinets and furniture.

I have two planers, a “generic 4 post” Jet and a Dewalt 735. I also have a Moak 12” jointer circa 1950. My motivation is to avoid knife changes in the event of a nick.

Please contribute any thoughts/ opinions w/r which ONE should get the Byrd. [In my ideal world, they’d all get one, but reality intervenes.]

The Dewalt makes nice light cuts. It appears easiest to change the head. But the standard knife changes are easy.

The Jet leaves feed roller tracks on light cuts. I’ve been using this planer on rough, longer lumber. I have not changed the knives so I have no idea of the ease or difficulty relative to the other cutterheads. Installing a head appears to be more time consuming and messy as the oil-filled gearcase must be disassembled.

The jointer is an unknown: direct drive with no parts diagram. The only parts list I have found fails to show how the head joins the motor. Fortunately standard knife changes are accessible and straightforward.

I'd vote for putting the Byrd on the 735. If you keep the Jet and use it for the rough stuff, then finish on the 735 with a Byrd--it's possible you might not need to buy replacement carbides for the rest of your life.
    earl

The Moak will be too expensive if you can even get one to fit.

The Dewalt knife changes are easy.

The generic 4 post should get it. You can adjust out the feed roller marks.

I'd put it in the Jet and properly adjust the rollers. It shouldn't leave marks - mine only does occasionally on very very light cuts (like 1/16 turn of the wheel). There are rubber rollers also available that came on Delta machines.