Thread: Board of woodworking joints

Board of woodworking joints

I am a High School shop teacher and would like to build a board of all of the significant joints that my students would encounter and/or use. When I was in high school myself I remember having a 4x4 piece of plywood on the wall that was painted a light green color and had joints both assembled and disassembled. At the time I didnt give it much thought but the teacher probably didnt know much about it himself. I have not been able to find anything by doing a google search. I would like to make a similar board for my room and was wondering what joints everyone thought would be pertinent for high school shop students to know. Thanks for any input, I will try and post a pic when I get it completed. Thanks for the suggestions.

Cody

Great idea Cody. Heres my basic list. Obviously there are variants (e.g., through joints vs stopped joints) of several that I wont list. Heres the ones that came to my mind: butt, dado, rabbett, miter, dovetail, box, finger. Im forgetting some, but its a start.

Another idea. Arrange them on the board from weakest joints (butt) to strongest joints. Or from easiest to make to hardest to make. Etc.

Good luck. I envy you man - wish I could be a shop teacher. Id really enjoy that!

Fred
    Last edited by Frederick Skelly; 11-13-2014 at 8:20 PM.
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."

“If you want to know what a man's like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

The first thing they need to understand is grain and the difference between long and end grain and its inplications for wood movement and gluing joints. So I might use the old bundle of drinking straws as a way to think about it. "If you glue the straws together along their length, the bond can be as strong as the wood. If you glue them end to end, the glue just goes into the straw and forms a very weak bond."