Thread: academic version of corel draw

academic version of corel draw

I am purchasing corel draw and just got off the phone with them. They tell me the academic version is no different from the full version except it cannot be used for commercial purposes, and its not upgradeable. Does anyone have any experience using the academic version for their laser needs? I am an illustrator user myself and will only be designing in illustrator on my mac and importing the file into corel draw on the pc driving the laser. Any suggestions?

My first suggestion is to type "academic corel" into the search box in the upper right corner. That question has been asked many times and the answer is (almost) always the same.

Thanks Gary that was my first attempt however didnt have much come back. This time all is well. Thanks for the info!!

Blog Entries
    Unless they have changed their stance, the academic version also does not include the VB scripting engine, which is required for macros. Maybe not a big deal to some, but a dealbreaker for others. Plus, you can't use the academic version for business purposes, no matter where along the line it's used or what tiny fraction of functionality is being used.
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)
    Freeware: InkScape, Paint.NET, DoubleCAD XT
    Paidware: Wacom Intuos4 (Large), CorelDRAW X5

I upgraded to Corel 6 (full version) from the academic version of Corel 5. I specifically asked Corel if my academic version qualified, they said yes and gave instructions on how to make the upgrade. The upgrade purchase was made over the phone with Corel.
    Shenhui 1440x850, 130 Watt Reci Z6
    Gerber Sabre 408