Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Do my infeed and outfeed table wings on my Grizzly planer have to be dead accurate?

Do my infeed and outfeed table wings on my Grizzly planer have to be dead accurate?

Today I'm finally assembling my Grizzly planer. I'm relatively new to owning my own equipment, so I don't know a whole bunch about the importance of accuracy yet. Today I installed the wings for the infeed and outfeed, and it isn't dead accurate. In case you aren't familiar with the planer, the wings are secured with 3 bolts and leveled with set screws. My biggest issue was when I fully tightened the bolts, the wing moved slightly, so I had to guess the set screw position. I measured the level with a straight edge, and the best I got was maybe only a paper thin gap in the middle of the ruler. I assume if you are that close, the rollers should keep the piece flat enough

When it comes to setting up machinery I am on the OCD side. However, I found this to be necessary as it significantly improved my results. I am sure other will chime in and say just run it and see how it performs and even claim wood moves and not to worry.

I'm not familiar with your particular planer, however, as a general principle the infeed wing needs to be perfectly level with the table, the outfeed wing can be a smidge lower, but that will result in snipe.

Look at it this way - a finished piece of woodwork is the result of many processes, and each process has tiny potential errors that can creep in, the earlier in the work the tiny error occurs - the more noticeable it will be, or harder to fix, in later processes.

For that reason - if you're aware of a potential problem, take the time to fix it - in this case you only have to get it right once, then the machine will not have that tiny error in it ever again - and you've eliminated a potential tiny error in one of the earliest processes of any finished piece you make.
    I love mankind. It's people I can't stand.