Thread: Saw build questions

Saw build questions

I started to make a couple of back saws this week. This is my first attempt at building a saw. Last year I bought a couple of sharpened saw plates from Ron Bontz, and now I'm getting around to making the saws. So I have a couple of questions for you experts.
    I don't know much about hang angle so I plucked a nice pattern off the net with something like a 15 degree hang angle if I measure correctly. I have a rip and a crosscut saw plate, so I figure I'll use the same handle for both saws. Is that a mistake?
    I have a couple of chunks of apple from a member here but I'm a bit worried that I'll screw something up so I started on a walnut handle thinking if I get things figured out I can replace the walnut with apple latter. Is walnut the wrong wood?
    I found some brass in my metal storage, so I ordered a slitting saw and plan to machine the brass back and slit the slot on my horizontal mill. But I also ordered some .093 brass plate for making a folded back in case I want to give that option a whirl. The saw plates are 5" x 18" x .025" thick. I'm undecided on the final saw size, I'm leaning toward 14" crosscut saw and a 16" tenon saw, both with 4" under the back. Any thoughts on if I should go with 1/2 back or full length backs? I'm leaning toward full length. Any thoughts on the sizes that I'm considering?
    The Plane Anarchist

Walnut feels nice, but it's prone to splintering or dents - if dropped.
    I'm hard on tools, and prefer a harder species for handles.

I'm not sure, but I think Ron has made some handles from Hickory.
    Mesquite is nice, too. What species are locally available?

The only thing I would suggest, regarding design is to have a look
    at handles with more "meat" in the upper and lower loop above
    and below the hand grip.

That's where all my 'rehab' saws failed.

Ron made a Reagan variant that fills most of these design requirements.