Thread: easy wood bowl gouged

easy wood bowl gouged

Can anyone tell me about the easy wood bowl turning tools;;are they worth it;;;I am new at bowl turning and needless to say had a horrible experience on my first bowl but actually the only tools I was using was a. Shopsmith roughting gouge and a skew chiesel;;;need some good comments;;;thank you

The easy wood tools are good quality and are popular, personally I think they are over-priced. More important than the brand of tools; I think you need some hands-on instruction to keep you safe while learning.

Jeff,

If I'm reading correctly, you used a spindle roughing gouge and a skew chisel attempting to make a bowl. If that's correct, my advice to you would be to unplug the machine and not use it again until you have the proper tools for bowl work. Never use a roughing gouge for any bowl work especially if your just starting to learn turning.

As for the Easy Wood Tools, they can/do help the beginner be able to complete projects and gain confidence. Just remember these tools are carbide scrapers so the finish you'll get won't be as good as you would get with sharp high speed steel, meaning you will have more sanding to do.

I'd suggest you google Robo Hippie, Lyle Jamison or John Lucas. They have a number of videos on YouTube covering many different subjects. You'll find many others also with great content. Also just use the search function on this board and you can learn a lot but above all else, get yourself plugged into a local turning chapter.
    Last edited by David Delo; 01-23-2015 at 9:24 PM. Reason: typo