Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reinforcing Mitered Box Corners

Reinforcing Mitered Box Corners

Hi All,

I'm a beginner to woodworking and am making my first box to hold our ever growing Cards Against Humanity set. It's a maple box with a sliding walnut lid and a baltic birch bottom in a dado. In my complete "newb-ness" I decided to miter the corner of the box. Is there an easy way to reinforce the corners? My understanding is that the end-grain to end-grain glue-up likely will not last.

Thanks in advance!

Rubber binders

I typically use hardwood spline like pictured in this link ...https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

Bade's splines are a good solution. You cut the slot for the spline on a table saw. You make a cradle that stands the box on its corner. It runs along the rip fence.

I use biscuits. If you have a biscuit joiner, it is easy to put them in miter joints. About the best use of a biscuit joiner.

I should have been more explicit ... check out this google image link and you'll see lottsa examples https://www.google.com/search?q=mite...sQsAQ#imgdii=_

Here is a photo of a keepsake box I built for my daughter-in-law. The sides of the box are 3/8" thick. The keys (also called splines) are the thickness of my table saw blade. I have built several of these and the corners are extremely strong. The box is black walnut and the keys and inlay are soft maple.

Click to zoom

Image00001.jpg

Glued up mitered corners are still stronger than the surrounding wood. Putting splines in helps, but isn't really necessary. It's more for decoration than anything else.

Either biscuits (hidden) or a splined miter (exposed). Have done the keys for decorative purposes as well. The spline running the length of the joint or a biscuit helps keep things from slipping during glue up, though tape on the outside of the miter is also great for that.