Thread: A Fantastic Day of Turning Instruction

Central New Jersey, from where you can drive anywhere!

A Fantastic Day of Turning Instruction

Although I joined the site 3 years ago, I have only been reading and absorbing the wisdom of the forum. My turning has been entirely self-taught until this past Friday. On Friday, I had the most enjoyable and educational day of my brief turning experience. My BIL and I spent the day under the tutelage of Bill Grumbine in his workshop in Kutztown PA http://wonderfulwood.com/ .

Bill is an entertaining speaker, a gracious host, and above all an excellent teacher. I may not be much of a turner, but after 33 years in the classroom myself, I can recognize a well planned and skillfully executed day of instruction. My BIL has just begun to turn and I have been working at it for a year now, so Bill had to divide his time and attention between two students with widely different levels of skills and needs. He did so effortlessly, providing both support and challenges as required. I expected an overload of information, but there was plenty of time to try the techniques that Bill showed us. Of course, when we left, I was eager to get to my garage and practice them, which I did first thing Saturday morning.