Thread: Journey to SMC

Journey to SMC

The David Weaver post was an inspiration for this post...

I built a dedicated wood shop about 10 years ago. At the time, I worked with mostly corded tools. I am a Forest Technician by occupation, and working wood, construction, log home building have been my secondary, off season occupations. With DUST as a LUNG concern, I plumbed the shop with a collector and filters. To go that route when you are doing woodworking as a hobby/ part time, this can be expensive (to do it right). Since my primary occupation is Forestry, I eventually decided to go dustless, old school with woodworking, Enter SMC, hand planes, chisels, auger bits and braces...

About 5 -6 years ago, I was working on "stuff", and was googling appropriate woodworking threads. Old SMC threads were always coming up (a few years before I actually joined), helping me out. Eventually, I had a problem that Google and SMC could not solve from the archives.

I joined, got some input from some VETERANS, and went on my way.

I LIKE this forum, and like that the veterans keep posting here , even if some things are redundant.

THANX

Welcome Roger. Glad you decided to join us and to speak up to let us hear your views. Hope to hear more from you in the future!
    Fred
    "All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing."

“If you want to know what a man's like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.”

The experienced guys are generous, and patient with us Newbies.
    The site is well-moderated and composed.

I've always felt welcome, even if I was stepping on toes.
    You've made a good choice, one worthy of support.

Roger,as a long time woodworking veteran,I have COPD. My shop is now equipped with a proper dust collector. I am careful to not breathe any more than I can. The 18th. C. cabinet makers using a lot of mahogany usually died of lung cancer,and they were still working by hand. So,be careful.