Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Birch Ply vs MDF

Birch Ply vs MDF

I plan to make 2 of the swivel (flip) top cabinets for 4 of the benchtop tools in the shop. I have gathered a few sets of plans and was reviewing them before purchasing the materials list.

Still being on the newbie side, I figured I better check with the experts so as not to mess this project up.

My question is: In making the cabinet carcass would it be advisable to use MDF or Birch Ply? I am most familiar with the birch ply from my workbench and router table cabinet, but I have never used or even layed hands on MDF before. Being that these 2 flip top cabinets are going to be supporting considerable weight, would the MDF hold up or should I stay with the birch ply that has treated me well thus far?

Thanks as always for you help and input.

Bob...I would certainly stick to the plywood. My first reason is ease of handling, the plywood will wieght about half of that of mdf. Don't know about you, but I no longer get a joy out of handling 80 lb. 4X8 sheets around. My second reason is that the plywood is going to be much stronger. Third reason is that the plywood will take a very nice finish, even if you desire to leave it clear.

Doug

I agree with Doug. If I was building your project, I would go to HD and pick up the 29.97 a sheet Birch Maple ply.

Corey

Bob, I would also go with the plywood. BUT, if you go to HD, be careful I bought a sheet of their $29 3/4 birch ply and although it looked good in the store, it was warped Most of it was usable, but it made terrible shelves

Today I found a lumber yard up the road that stocks hardwood ply A sheet of AA birch is around $55. It is not quite up to cabinet grade as it has a few voids in the interior plys. But heck, if you are going to trim the edges, who cares
    Best Regards, Ken

Thanks guys.... I kind of figured that would be the answers I got. Corey.... $30 for birch ply at HD? Whoa.... Try $50+ around my neck of the woods OUCH!