Thread: Health safety - Dust masks and collection

Health safety - Dust masks and collection

I have a beginner's question about health safety around dust. I am an occasional woodworker now. I would like to increase the amount of projects I do, but will need to invest in dust collection and air filtering.

I have read various articles (including Bill Pentz' site) about dust collection and the very harmful effects of dust. I currently have no dust collection or air filtering, other than an open garage door in good weather or a small exhaust fan in cold weather. I wear a high quality 3M mask with P100 filters.

1. When specifying an adequate dust collection system, is this based on the woodworker not wearing any respiratory protection?

2. Does everybody need a large cyclone dust collector, especially if wearing a quality mask?

I am trying to keep my equipment investment reasonable, but I'm not trying to fool myself about adequate respiratory protection either.

Thanks for any help!
    Last edited by Tim Burke; 08-05-2005 at 9:14 AM. Reason: clarify my main questions

Welcome to the creek, always good to meet another Iowa woodworker! The dust that the dust collectors dont get is the worst. Anything PM10 or less is what is really bad for your lungs, so I dont think it would hurt to wear a P100 even when using a dust collection system.
    Scott