Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Installing new circuits at main circuit breaker panel - DIY? or hire electrician?

Installing new circuits at main circuit breaker panel - DIY? or hire electrician?

I am no electrician, but I am pretty handy. I want to add two new 15-amp circuits to the existing main circuit breaker panel. These two circuits will feed two backyard outlets, meant to provide electricity for a transformer (probably 300 W max) for low voltage lights. I've already laid 10-3 UF wires (2 feet deep, in conduit), terminated outside, below where the main circuit breaker panel is located. This is a picture of the panel prior to sheet rock.

_DSC5710.jpg

There is a small square metal gang box below the main panel. It's empty. There isn't any wire terminating in it or come out of it. What is it for? Can it be used to get the external wires to inside the main panel?

BTW, this post is legit for the "shop" section because the main panel is in the wall of my one-car-garage shop. It is in the wall of my shop!
    Last edited by Wakahisa Shinta; 09-11-2015 at 7:51 PM.

It is super easy to install a couple of breakers. It might take 20-30 min. The first time is intimidating but once you do it you think "is that it?" The electrician might cost $200 or more, money better spent on tools.
    There are two kinds of people in this world, those who say there are two kinds of people and those who don't

Blog Entries
    Safety rule when working near hot wires: keep one hand in your pocket

Are you going to use GFCI Outlets?
    Steve Kinnaird
    Florida's Space Coast
    Have built things from wood for years, will finally have a shop setup by Sept. 2015 !! OK, maybe by February LOL ……

Steve, I plan on either using GFCI circuit breaker or GFCI outlet. The GFCI outlet in the backyard termination point would be simpler to install.