Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sorry... MM16 vs LT16HD

Sorry... MM16 vs LT16HD

Sorry to post this question again, I can't make a decision! I am looking for a bandsaw, and have narrowed it to these two. I was in orange county on an overnight this last week and was able to walk to the Laguna showroom. I was able to see the LT16HD and Lt18 Italian in person, and was very impressed. I haven't had the chance to see a MM16 in person, but from what I've read and seen online it seems pretty good. Anyone here in SLC and have one I could come see, or know of someplace that has one? Part of me feels it's crazy to spend this much on a bandsaw, I'll use 10% of it most of the time. I've been using my fathers Rikon 18" for a few years, and just want something a little nicer, although it does everything I've asked it to... I can't make a decision!

Steve, I have never regretted spending money on a machine.

I have regretted not spending enough..................Regards, Rod.

Only machines I ever regretted spending money on are Grizzly. My MM16 has worked very well for ten years now and has cut anything I threw at it including 15" thick african blackwood. Only thing I don't like about it is the fence (who designs a fence that relies on one bolt to secure it?) and I wish it had a T miter bar slot in lieu of the milled slot.

That's what I'm worried about, I'm worried if I get a cheaper saw that I'll wish I'd gotten the bigger. I bought a 3HP sawstop this year, and now wish I'd gotten a 5 Hp machine. Woodcraft has a Laguna sale right now with 10% off. They don't cary the LT16HD since only Laguna sells it, but the LT18 Italian is available through woodcraft for about the same price as the other two...The 18 is taller than I'd like, and would be very close to my ceiling height as I'm in a basement shop with an 82" ceiling height. Decisions, Decisions!