Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sea Chest Build Pics

Blog Entries

Sea Chest Build Pics

These are some pictures of an African mahogany chest with a coopered top and a nautical theme. I built a similar chest for a 30th anniversary that is described in a earlier post and built this coopered top at the same time. This Sea chest is smaller 14 x 14 x28.

I built the coopered top first because I can’t really predict what the curve will look like when it’s finished. The rest of the chest is built around the top once it has been cleaned up/surfaced.

Here’s the framework that captures the top joined with dovetails and with interior groove to house the coopered top.
    1.jpg2.jpg

I’ve added some string inlay and carving to this chest. I’m a novice at both. Here is the Holly and tools I used to make the inlay/banding. One lesson I learned is I’m better off sawing inlaid objects out of 3/16 inch thick stock, rather than my earlier attempts to cut them out of veneer with an eX-Acto knife. This way there is less risk of planning through the inlay during final surfacing.
    3.jpg

I put a star at one side of the lid and a dolphin on the other, sawing them out with a bird’s mouth and fret saw. This would be much easier with an electric scroll saw, but not impossible by hand
    7.jpg5.jpg

One of the most difficult parts of string inlay for me is getting consistent thickness of the stringing. There are dedicated hand tools for this, but I just clamped to the bench and used a block plane to get them as close to a consistent fit with the .040 inch groove the inlay cutter makes. The small syringe for putting glue in the groove is a “must have tool”, however it’s a huge headache trying to keep the small diameter nozzle from clogging with dried glue (lots of emptying, rinsing, repeat). Once glued in, I trim the inlay with a paring chisel and plane to final flush fit.
    6.jpg

Cutting top rails to consistent length to hopefully keep the carcass square.
    8.jpg