Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Full width shavings (or not)

Full width shavings (or not)

I have a Fulton / Sargent 409C that I brought back to life. I sharpened the blade to arm hair cutting status. Its very sharp although I dont think the bevel is right because I cant seem to get it polished throught out. Ive tried for a while.
    THe edge is pretty straight (no camber), the frog is tight to the base but I cant seem to get a full width shaving. It seems to be cutting right in the middle of the blade. I'm fairly new to the plane thing so I was wondering if someone
    could tell me where Im going wrong.

Thanks!

image6.jpeg image5.jpeg image4.jpeg Untitled-5c.jpg

Blog Entries
    Paul, if the blade is truly flat then the board is not flat, but convex.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

I see what appears to be a gap under the front of the chip breaker. You can fix that by lapping the mating surface of that breaker on a stone (rest the back end of the breaker on the same stone so that you achieve a very slight undercut on the front mating edge. This will keep the shavings from getting caught in the the assembly. Move the breaker closer to the edge of the iron. Try to get the entire bevel lapped evenly. I recommend a sharpening jig to assure this. From this, you can hone just the barest front portion to a mirror finish. Your shaving is in the middle of the iron, so your lateral adjusting seems to be on the money. You don't necessarily need a full shaving but yours is only about 50%. Good luck and listen to what the others say.

There are three possible reasons (that I can think of) why the blade js cutting as it is:

1. The blade has camber.

2. The board is not flat but had a high point, as Brian also suggested.

3. The sole of the plane is not flat and is higher at the centre than the sides.

Regards from Perth

Derek