Thread: Epoxy or Bowtie or Nothing? Slab crack

Epoxy or Bowtie or Nothing? Slab crack

This is the under side of a slab that's 2" thick and 50"x22". Gonna be a coffee table.

Is this crack something I NEED to deal with? I'm no expert and don't know if it's a structural thing. The slab is dry but in colder NorCal garage.

If I should do something, is epoxy or a bowtie better? I have epoxy here and never done a bowtie before. I'd order the Jasper bowtie router template and bit kit if I were to go that route.

Whether you need to do something about it depends a little upon your design. If you're going for the live-edge slab top look, you maybe don't have to do anything. It might move a tad during the seasons, but generally that's not an issue in that esthetic.

A related question is whether this slab is dry. If it is still kinda wet, it will shrink some as it dries further. That shrinkage may encourage the crack to propagate further. If that is an issue, you could put in a bow-tie. Me, I'd put the bow-tie in the table edge. It will prevent propagation, but be a little less distracting than if it is on the table top.

One more thought... A bow tie has history, because it is easy to cut with hand tools -- a chisel. But that's not the only shape you can use, particularly in the age of power tools. You can use any shape that is bigger at the ends than in the middle. I've seen "bow-ties" that look more like a dumbbell, or like a doggie bone. I've even seen one that looked like two stars joined by a bar.

Patrick, the design of your project is probably the important factor here. A bowtie could look fantastic but they can be deployed carelessly as well, not all of us are Nakashima. I would dress that edge up, trim off as much of the crack as possible and fill it with darkened epoxy. I've done it many times on many types of defects, knots, cracks worm holes ect... and haven't regretted it yet. It finishes fine and comes out looking like a dark streak in the wood.