Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Joinery for Screen Door built by a newbie

Joinery for Screen Door built by a newbie

I am going to be making 3 screen doors for our house. We are in Central Texas and this doors are relatively unprotected (no porch overhang). The last few sets of doors, purchased from the big box stores, have all rotted at the joints after 3-4 years. No matter what I did (multiple coats of paint, caulk in the joints, etc) water would work into those joints and eat up the soft pine.

This time, I am going to try making my own doors either out of Cypress or Cedar (either 4/4 or 5/4 material).

I am wondering about what I should do for joinery?

Pocket holes is the obvious choice, but I was thinking of not painting the doors (sealing only) and the pocket holes would stick out--also not sure how to manufacture plugs out of cedar or cypress.

I am relatively new at fine woodworking, but have done a variety of construction projects and built some shop cabinets. I am willing to learn new skills (and/or buy new tools ), but I am still on the steep side of the learning curve. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks

Pocket hole screws IN MY MIND don't belong on doors or fine furniture (unless completely hidden - even then... ).

When I build screen/storm doors I have used 1/2 lap joinery to join the rails and stiles (early versions) and now defer to exterior grade Domino loose tenons. Of course you can make these with authentic mortise and tenon construction if you are so inclined and have the tools and experience. The dominos are easy, very effective, accurate and result in a solid construction. Yeah you need to own or borrow or rent a Festool Domino. There's your new tool and what a great tool it is.

Another treatment is to attach the stiles to the rails with through lags - similar to Timber Locks. That's a quick and dirty technique that will make for a solid easy to build door.