Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How bad of a mistake is this, and can it be fixed?

How bad of a mistake is this, and can it be fixed?

I'm building a coffee table from plans in FWW, it's supposed to look like this:

coffee_table.jpg

When I cut the curve in the bottom of the side panels I only left 5/8" under the through mortise:

panel 1.jpg

panel 2.jpg

The through mortise is 3/4" x 4", the dado is 1/4" deep x 3/4" x 13". I think I can live with the look (I'm a hobbyist and this is for myself), but if it's a structural issue I'll need to remake the pieces. Forces would seem to be the weight of the shelf and resistance to torquing by the corbels. Options would seem to be:

1. Remake the panels.
    2. Don't worry about it, structurally it should be fine.
    3..Some cleaver fix.
    Last edited by Dave Anthony; 04-17-2016 at 8:53 PM.

If you are careful and cut a tenon that fits precisely but does not stress the 5/8" cross section too much you should be fine. I would not depend on pounding the joint together when making the final assembly and glue up.

The other question that most woodworkers have to consider is can you live with the finished product knowing you made a mistake. To many folks it's just a design change, others would go out into the driveway and conduct a funeral pyre with a gallon of gasoline.

Any decision you make will be the right one.

mill a curved piece an inch or two longer than the mortise and wider than the panel. put some detail on the ends and edges and glue it under the mortise. stronger and a little design detail

In the foothills of the NM Sandia Mountains
    As long as everything fits together without strain, I wouldn’t worry about it at all. How much meat is in the FWW plan?
    It is a nice looking table.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney