Thread: How much is too little?

How much is too little?

A while back I found a place to sell some woodworking; a number of women that do a barn sale once a month. I was very happy to find this outlet until I took a good look at their prices. Very low. Let me put this in context. The barn is to drool over, beautiful 18th century Chester County (Pa.) on a ridiculously beautiful piece of property. I'm sure these ladies did this for fun, to keep busy, etc. It did not seem they needed money from the look of the property, at least one did not. As I said the prices seemed low. One that stood out to me was a four drawer chest which appeared hand made which sold for ~$300-400. Many of the pieces were average looking craft items with low end prices as well.
    My background is initially with a company from this area that did 18th century reproductions...very high end, traditional joinery. I have also worked retail furniture sales and become familiar with the pricing of pieces made a little differently, a little cheaper. It was my intention to make a one door (two panel) cupboard, about 55" tall. I thought I would paint it and distress the painting. In the manufactured, unfinished furniture world I had come from recently this piece would sell for $700-900 unfinished. In this barn sale I don't think this price would fit. I should point out that when I approached one of the ladies working the sale and discussed their pricing I was told that they purposely keep the prices low so they might sell to everyone.
    I'm torn between looking elsewhere or trying my hand with them hoping that it becomes a good venture in some way. I'd appreciate any thoughts.

It doesn't sound like a fit to me.

If you decide to try it anyway, I would come up with one or two much smaller ideas, where you wouldn't break the bank. A quality keepsake box for example. Find out if quality sells there.

Are you saying they control the prices?
    Rick Potter

DIY journeyman,
    FWW wannabe.