Thread: Cedar shingles

Cedar shingles

Hello, I have an opportunity to buy some old ( new ) cedar shingles. I have one side of my barn left to shingle. These shingles are bundled and stored on a pallet in a garage of a deceased contractor. My question is can shingles be too dry or can ther be other issues that I should be aware of. They will be stained when project is completed. Thanks in advance, Kevin

image.jpeg

Quote Originally Posted by kevin nee View Post
    Hello, I have an opportunity to buy some old ( new ) cedar shingles. I have one side of my barn left to shingle. These shingles are bundled and stored on a pallet in a garage of a deceased contractor. My question is can shingles be too dry or can ther be other issues that I should be aware of. They will be stained when project is completed. Thanks in advance, Kevin

image.jpeg
    Kevin, I have no experience with these except for burying a mountain of these that were pulled of the timberframe house when I bought this house, apparently after being up for less than five years. I have no idea why but I assume they had problems with them.

It seems to me that even if very dry thin cedar would quickly absorb moisture to 12-15% if left outside, if that would make a difference. I did read where old time roofers used a gimlet to drill a hole before pegging the shingle to the roof, perhaps to minimize splitting. That would be easier to do today.

Perhaps the owner will give or sell to you just a few shingles for you to try and see if there are any issues.

JKJ

If you don't want them I'd be happy to have them! Bugs and rot would be the only issues you might run into, unlikely of they've been stored dry.

New England, in a town on the way to nowhere