Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Format sliding saws

Format sliding saws

This is an Austrian Company similar to Felder....does anyone know about the company and machines?

http://www.format-4.com/fs_main.php3...chinenprogramm
    "All great work starts with love .... then it is no longer work"

It is Felder's flagship line. Just got their catalog in the mail the other day. Looks like beautiful stuff, although I have no hands on experience with any of their tools. Needless to say, very high end. I think their Kappa X-Motion saw would look rather dashing in your shop...

Dan

I believe John Renzetti has one. As I understand it, the Felder line goes from Hammer, Felder 700 series, Felder 900 series, Format 4, all coming out of the same factory with some overlap of components and features.

Format-4 is indeed Felder's top-of-the line. You'll drop $25K+ on one of those saws. They're really intended for the professional shop or the serious hobbyist for whom money isn't a real concern. I still believe that the best choices for a typical home shop from the Felder line would be the 700 series "S" (long chassis) saw/shaper and the 951 (20") jointer/planer. If you have the space and money and plan to do a lot of shaper work, then moving to separates for the saw and shaper makes sense and upgrading to the 900 series.

Frankly, if I were going to look at a Format-4, I'd consider spending the extra and go all the way to a Martin.

Quote Originally Posted by Rob Russell
    Frankly, if I were going to look at a Format-4, I'd consider spending the extra and go all the way to a Martin.
    I saw the SCM Vangaurd in Vegas. It won some award for tool of the year or something and it is, without a doubt the nicest slider I have ever seen... Maybe they would take a trade in on a car, a truck or a kid...

The Format 4 stuff looked pretty too, but not sure if it has caught up with the big dogs yet, SCMi, Altendorf and Martin.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Singer