Thread: How would you chuck this up?

How would you chuck this up?

This is my first attempt at a natural edge hollow vessel on my new Revo 1836. I started with a piece of burl that was 16 inches square. The Revo handled it easy.

I didn't think this through very well and ended up finishing the bottom with a jam chuck made from a dowel and a pool noodle. I would like to hear some suggestions on how to chuck something like this up.

IMG_0682.jpgIMG_0690.jpgIMG_0687.jpg

I would have likely turned a 2-3" diameter dowel, clamped in the chuck that was just small enough to fit into the opening and tape a couple thicknesses of paper towels on the end before inserting into the vessel. Then tailstock up to the bottom to turn and sand everything but the last little nub.
    -------
    No, it's not thin enough yet.
    -------

Thanks for the tip Scott. I will give that a try. I need to do some cleanup on the base.

I will throw this out there but it is a bid odd and of course might not have worked on this vessel because the strength of the walls might have been an issue.