Thread: Plywood questions

Plywood questions

I have limited experience with veneered plywood and have a few very basic questions:

1. Is it better to store plywood upright rather than stacked the way it is at Home Depot (lying flat)? I saw someone on TV say that it warps more lying flat horizontally. I would have thought its own weight would help prevent that.

2. Is there any difference, in terms of recommended blades, between ripping plywood or crosscutting it? I gather the grain of the veneer is oriented the long way but it's such a thin piece that I wouldn't think the rules that apply to solid wood apply here--is that right? Is a blade like a Forrest WWII good for plywood, or is a dedicated plywood blade better?

I keep it vertical.It is less likly to warp because the ambient moisture does not settle on the face and there is no weight on the sheet.
    I have a variety of blades. The WWII will do a pretty good job . Cross cutting oak ply may require a finer blade...80 tooth veneer blade...try the wwII first. The Festool plunge saw works well.
    "All great work starts with love .... then it is no longer work"

THe WWII works great for me. Sometimes on "cheap" plywood, it will tearoff the veneer layer when crosscutting. But this is likely due to the quality of the plywood, not the blade. Ripping is still fine, it doesnt tear out at all. The WWII is an excellent all-in-one blade, and I never see the need for a different blade. Like Mark says, the Festool saw does a great job too, which is what I use mostly for crosscutting. (but that is in no way related to your ?)
    Go Big, or Go Home... He who has the gold, makes the rules

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Singer
    I keep it vertical.It is less likly to warp because the ambient moisture does not settle on the face and there is no weight on the sheet.