Thread: Question about lathe speed for spindle turning (Nova Comet II)

Question about lathe speed for spindle turning (Nova Comet II)

I am a beginner. I recently purchased my first midi lathe: Nova Comet II (with extension.) It will be used almost solely for spindle turning. (Bowls - maybe in the future.) The lathe has variable speed, but I find that the ranges per belt are limiting. For this reason I am considering returning the Nova. I would love some help.

Details:

The lathe has the following speed ranges:

• Low Speed Pulley: 250 RPM – 680 RPM
    • Middle Speed Pulley: 530 RPM – 1420 RPM
    • High Speed Pulley: 1380 RPM – 4000 RPM

Nova claims that "The middle step usually provides enough range for most woodturning applications." However, for finishing, I think that going faster (2500?) is better. I am finding myself changing belts much more than I wanted... Am I wrong?

It seems that the Penn State Turncrafter TCLC12V, for example, has a more useful range of 950-3800

I would use the high speed for spindle work. It should provide a very acceptable range. I purchased the Comet II about six years ago for my daughter but I do not know how often she changes ranges. I have the Nova 1624 (Belt) and do all of my spindle work at the 2200 or 2900 setting and never move the belt.
    Is the PSI 950-3800 or 1950-3800? I saw one listing for the latter with a second slow speed setting being 500-1800.
    "I became insane, with long intervals of horrible sanity." - Edgar Allan Poe

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Mills View Post
    I would use the high speed for spindle work.
    It's probably a very reasonable compromise, but being a beginner I just don't know enough to determine if a slower speed for roughing is desirable. I can still return the lathe...

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Mills View Post
    Is the PSI 950-3800 or 1950-3800? I saw one listing for the latter with a second slow speed setting being 500-1800.